Mandatory COVID-19 tests to be presented upon arrival from 16 countries

French Government announced on 24 July that COVID-19 test results will need to be presented at the French border for travellers coming from the following 16 countries:
Algeria, Barheïn, Brazil, India, Israël, Kowëit, Madagascar, Oman, Panama, Peru, Qatar, Serbia, South Africa, Turkey, UAE, USA.

Algeria is on the list of “open countries” (as per the EU list – see our latest update in this respect) but given the current situation in this country France has decided to limit flows and keep closed borders.

This shall be effective from 1st August (provided authorities have successfully deployed sufficient means), and tests will be performed at the border for those travellers unable to present their results. If tested positive, the traveller will then be placed on compulsory quarantine.

It is to be noted that, the above 16 countries still have closed borders with France. Accordingly, the only authorized travellers are EU or French nationals, or people having their stable residence in France already. Number of travellers that require testing is therefore quite limited.

If you have any queries, please feel free to contact us.

Alexandra Demeure
Immigration Manager
Western Europe cluster

To read more immigration updates, click here.

About our Immigration Services

Our immigration services manage thousands of visa applications every year for a multitude of international companies. Our experienced immigration experts and migration agents handle the immigration process for you and provide simple reporting and guidance on immigration matters.

Select login type

If you haven’t received your login details then please get in touch with your relocation contact

Login as an assigneeLogin as a client

Santa Fe WeChat QR code
ID: SantaFeRelo
Hello, just to let you know we are not providing services to the selected location at the moment.