New travel restrictions

Who will be affected?

All citizens coming from the mentioned countries.


Due to the large outbreak of Covid–19 in Italy, new extraordinary laws were implemented and new restrictions/measures put in charge.


People who are supposed to travel to/from Italy must expect restrictions.


DPCM issued on 14 July 2020 extends the restrictions established by the Law Decree issued on 11 June 2020 and the ordinances issued on 30 June 2020 and 09 July 2020 by the Ministry of Health, until 31 July 2020.

Ordnance issued on 16 July 2020 by Ministry of Health put further restrictions.

Until 31 July 2020:

– people resident in Algeria, Australia,Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Ruanda, Serbia, Republic of Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay can enter Italy for any reason but is still in force the obligation of 14 days quarantine at the arrival and compulsory communication to the authorities.
– transfers from/to non-EU and non-Schengen countries are forbidden, except for working reasons, health reasons, proved need, study or to return their residency/domicile.
– who reenters Italy from/ stayed in a non-EU and non-Schengen country 14 days prior the arrival in Italy must provide a declaration accordingly to art 46 and 47 of the presidential decree 445 of 28 December 2000, specifying the reason of the trip, the address where he will be staying on quarantine and the mean of transport to reach this address, phone number to receive communication. They must also communicate at the prevention department of health authorities and stay on quarantine for 14 days at the address communicated informing authorities in case symptoms arise.These rules are not applicable to entering Italy for working reasons and to cross borders workers entering Italy for working reasons and to return their residency/domicile, workers with legal entity or secondary office in Italy moving for working reasons for max 120 hours.
– is forbidden the entrance and transit in Italy to people who 14 days prior their entrance in Italy stayed or passed through one of the following Countries: Armenia, Bahrein, Bangladesh, Brazil, Bosnia Herzegovina, Chile, Dominican Republic, Kosovo, Kuwait, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Moldova, Oman, Panama, Peru, Serbia. Also flights from/to the above countries are suspended.The only exception is for citizens and their close family members, of Eu countries, Schengen countries, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino Republic, Vatican, UK if they were resident in Italy before 9 July 2020.

Law 74 issued on 14 July 2020 and effective 16 July 2020, converts law decree 33 issued on 16 May 2020 into law.

Next Steps (or) Actions Required

People who need to travel from the mentioned countries, must consider the travel bans.

Santa Fe Analysis

Santa Fe will update about any relevant immigration update arising considering this scenario is continuously changing.
Should you have any questions, please contact the following:

Veronica Maggioni
Immigration Specialist
Santa Fe Relocation Italy
Tel.: +393483040948

To read more immigration updates, click here

About our Immigration Services
Our immigration services manage thousands of visa applications every year for a multitude of international companies. Our experienced immigration experts and migration agents handle the immigration process for you and provide simple reporting and guidance on immigration matters.

Select login type

If you haven’t received your login details then please get in touch with your relocation contact

Login as an assigneeLogin as a client

Santa Fe WeChat QR code
ID: SantaFeRelo
Hello, just to let you know we are not providing services to the selected location at the moment.