From 1st of September, according to Order nº 8652-C/ 2021, air traffic to and from mainland Portugal is authorised to:

1.Flights to and from countries belonging to the EU and countries associated with the Schengen Area (Liechtenstein, Norway, Iceland and Switzerland) and the United Kingdom;

2.Flights from Albania, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brunei, Canada, China, Japan, Jordan, New Zealand, Qatar, Republic of Moldova, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Ukraine and the Special Administrative Regions of Hong Kong and Macau, subject to reciprocity;

3.Flights that are not from/to EU countries or associated with the Schengen Area are exclusively for essential travel (namely, those intended to allow the entry into Portugal of citizens travelling for professional, study, family reunion reasons, for health or humanitarian reasons, according to under point a) of the 2nd subparagraph of the article 27 of the Resolution 114-A/2021);

4. Flights planned to allow the return to Portugal of nationals or foreign citizens holding a residence permit in Portugal and flights destined to allow the return of foreign citizens who are stranded in Portugal to their countries of origin, as long as they are promoted by the competent authorities of those countries;

5. Allowed non-essential travel to and from the United States of America and to and from Brazil (new).

OBS: Travels, for any reason, for all EU COVID Digital Certificate holders is allowed.

COVID Laboratory Test
Before boarding, passengers of all nationalities must present proof of laboratory result of a nucleic acid amplification test (TAAN) or rapid antigen test (TRAg)* to screen for SARS-CoV-2 infection with a negative result, performed within 72 or 48 hours before boarding time, respectively, with the exception of children who have not completed 2 years old.
(*) the proof of laboratory performance of the rapid antigen test (TRAg) must indicate, obligatorily, the set of standardized data agreed by the Committee of Health Security of the European Union.

To all foreign citizens who board without the aforementioned test shall be refused entry into national territory.

National citizens and foreign citizens with legal residence in the national territory and their family members, who are passengers of these flights and who, in violation of the duty to present proof of laboratory tests, proceed to board, are forwarded by the competent authorities, upon arrival in national territory, to carry out the PCR test at their own expenses, in a proper place inside the airport, waiting there until the notification of the negative result.
The presentation of Digital Certificate COVID EU dispenses tests to screen for infection by SARS-CoV-2 due to travel.

Passengers from India, Nepal, South Africa must comply with a 14-day prophylactic isolation period after entering mainland Portugal, at home or in a location indicated by health authorities. These rules are also applicable to entry across land, sea or fluvial borders.
Passengers who come from the countries mentioned above must complete the form on the platform.

Prophylactic isolation is also applicable to passengers on flights with origin in India, Nepal and South Africa, who have made a stop-over or transited through other airports, and to passengers on flights, regardless of origin, who present a passport stamp with a departure record from India, Nepal and South Africa in the 14 days prior to their arrival in Portugal.
Passengers traveling for essential journeys and whose period of stay in national territory, attested by a return ticket, does not exceed 48 hours are excluded from isolation.
Passengers from the United Kingdom with proof of vaccination are also exempted and attesting the complete vaccination schedule of the respective holder, for at least 14 days, with a vaccine against COVID-19 authorised under the terms of the Regulation (EC) No. 726/2004.

The presentation of the EU COVID Digital Certificate of vaccination or recovery also dispenses with quarantine or isolation for travel reasons.

The lists of countries indicated within the scope of permitted air traffic and mandatory prophylactic isolation can be updated at any time, in case of changes in epidemiological terms.

Regarding processing of all national visas, restrictions to short-term visas processing still remain until further notice, with the exception of visas for EU citizens’ relatives and for essential travels (third country nationals traveling for professional reasons, study, family reunion, for health or humanitarian reasons.

Short-stay visas for non-essential travel may only be issued to foreign citizens legally residing in the countries and Special Administrative Regions listed in Annex I of the above referred Order: Albania, Australia, China, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand, Republic of North Macedonia, Rwanda, Singapore, Serbia, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, United States of America and the Special Administrative Regions of Hong Kong and Macau.

IMPORTANT: Local circumstances resulting from the pandemic may prevent certain Consular Posts from being able to immediately resume the regular processing of visas, even nationals (residence and temporary stay visas).

Should you have any questions and for more details, please contact the following for assistance:

Luciana Zettel
Immigration Specialist
Santa Fe Relocation

About our Immigration Services
Our immigration services manage thousands of visa applications every year for a multitude of international companies. Our experienced immigration experts and migration agents handle the immigration process for you and provide simple reporting and guidance on immigration matters.

Select login type

If you haven’t received your login details then please get in touch with your relocation contact

Login as an assigneeLogin as a client

Santa Fe WeChat QR code
ID: SantaFeRelo
Hello, just to let you know we are not providing services to the selected location at the moment.